My New Home on La Ochenta and My New Parceros (Friends)

It was a bit confusing where I was going to stay as soon as I arrived in Medellin, but after being greeted by hugs at the airport I knew it would be okay! I ended up staying with Mayi who’s also in AIESEC. But, now I’m staying with Juan Pablo and he’s equally pretty amazing.

Mayi and Me

La Ochenta is a main street in Medellín and its always very busy. But I like it like that. There are many street vendors selling fruits like mango, pineapple and strawberries. But also comida rapida like hot dogs and hamburgers. Or my favorite stands, empanadas and panzerotti. And they’re incredibly cheap between 1000 COP- 3000 COP or about $0.50- $1.50. Yeah, it’s not healthy but incredibly delicious. Also, it’s particularly close to all the bus stops; because there are none in Medellín– just wave out your hand.

My first roommate, Mayi was all a newbie trainee could ask for. Kind , generous, outgoing, and happy. She was always there whenever I needed help or wanted to go somewhere. She’s basically my unofficial madrina (godmother), and it was a blast staying with her for a week! She’s made my experience one to remember from the first night of going out and introducing her to 5-hour energy to the numerous helado outings. So happy she only lives a block away!

My new roomate, Juan Pablo is incredibly funny and generous. While I attempt to speak Spanish, which more or less ends in stares it’s a vibrant exchange between my English and his Spanish. Yet I’m trying to turn him away from Lana del rey and Adele. I can’t take sad artists, I need everything to be upbeat and happy! For example, don’t watch the movie One Day; I thought it was going to be a happy movie. Nope. Thanks Juan Pablo.

And for the AIESEC kiddies! They’re all fun, smart, and spirited people. They make this exchange incredible. They’re from a slew of different countries, Eric from Panama, June from China, Katrin from Germany, Laura from Italy, Marion from France, Icaro, Dilne, and Gerson from Brazil. And finally, 3 from the United States: Brittney, Steven, and Sarah. I’m glad I’m not the only one navigating through this unfamiliar domain and can connect with Brittney in falling in almost every crack on the street, or Marion and bargain shopping, and Sarah for helping me with my classes. More on them later!

But friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life, and thanks to a benevolent arrangement the greater part of life is sunshine.

-Thomas Jefferson

The AIESEC gang

Leave a Reply

